Licensure Compacts

The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) allows a nurse to have one multistate license with the ability to practice in the home state and other compact states.

39jurisdictions have enacted NLC legislation

NLC Model Legislation and Rules

NLC Legislation is the model bill that states need to enact to join the NLC.


Get answers to frequently asked questions about the NLC.

NLC Training Resources

Members: NCSBN has developed numerous resources to help boards of nursing enact Compact legislation.


Learn which states are in the NLC. 

APRN Compact Model Legislation and Rules

Model APRN Compact Legislation serves as the basis for what states need to enact to join the APRN Compact.